Nevermore

So it’s been a few days since the “pacie in a toy-lit” incident, and you may be wondering how the de-pacification is progressing. Well. He’s been doing quite well without his pacifier. I’m surprised actually. About 10 minutes after he gets into bed for the night, he’ll start to whimper, and I hear “A pacie in a toy-lit.” a couple times, and then he’s ok. Nap times have been easy as pie, and even during the day he’s been pretty good. He’s taken to digging through my pockets trying to find one, but then I remind him that it’s gone, and he’s ok. He hasn’t bitten anyone, nor have I had to hear much whining about it at all. It’s been great.

Except…now, he firmly refuses to pee on the potty because no, his pacie in nere. No amount of coaxing or bribing could convince him to pee on his beloved pacie. Not even Micah’s grandiose story about how now his pacie is at the bottom of the ocean, and we’d have to get a submarine to go down and find it will convince him. So, potty training has ground to a halt, as I am unsure how to overcome this obstacle. A friend suggested that we get another pacie like it, but snip a hole in it so it doesn’t work properly, then tell him that we got it out of the toy-lit and he can have it again- in hopes that he’ll be so happy about the pacie that he’ll be willing to potty train again, but that the hole in it will cause him to be uninterested in actually sucking on it. This sounds good, but then I start to wonder if perhaps this would encourage him to put other things in the toy-lit, fish them out, and then put them in his mouth. I am not sure. Any other advice?


3 responses to “Nevermore

  • Robin

    Yeah, I’d steer clear of the “eating stuff that may or may not have been in the toilet” route, if I were you.

  • Mommy Rader

    WOW. No advice on that one per say…but man oh man do I ever LOVE reading your blog posts!!! You are stinkin hilarious, and how you tell your kids’ adventures, er…mis-adventures…cracks me up.

    Congrats on being November’s Blogger of the Month!!! I personally think you earned it 🙂

    Good luck with your paci dilema 🙂

  • Kelly

    Thanks Jess! 🙂

Leave a comment